All Types of Macaw Species & Where to Get Them for Sale


Macaw species are very large colorful parrots native to Central and South America. They fall under the Psittacidae family, grouping with other parrot species like Conures, Cockatoos, and Amazons among others. These birds have varied sizes, colors, and habitats leading to eighteen specific species of Macaw being recognized. This blog will look at the different types of Macaw species, more on their unique characteristics and where to get macaws for sale.

Scarlet Macaw Species

As one of the most commonly known types of macaws, the Scarlet Macaw (Ara macao) is popular among many people. Bird lovers tend to like it because of its bright red, blue and yellow color patterns which are quite attractive to them. This bird species can be spotted in Mexican rainforests as well as those found in Central and South America. Scarlet Macaws are famous for having a longer span in their lives which is up to eighty years in some cases (Hoppes, 1991).


  • Size: Up to 33 inches (85 cm)
  • Weight: 2.2 – 3.7 pounds (1 – 1.7 kg)
  • Color: Bright red, blue, and yellow feathers with white facial patches
  • Diet: Fruits, seeds, nuts, and berries
  • Lifespan: 40 – 50 years in the wild, up to 80 years in captivity

Fun Facts

  • Scarlet Macaws fly in pairs as a sign of their lifelong fidelity.
  • Their strong beak is more than capable of cracking open nuts easily.
  • The birds are excellent mimics, they can be taught how to speak through training.

Blue and Gold Macaw

The Ara ararauna (Blue and Gold Macaw) is another widely-liked macaw species with striking blue and yellow feathers. They are located in rainforests within South American countries that stretch all the way from Panama down through Brazil.


  • Size: Up to 33 inches (85 cm)
  • Weight: 2.7 – 3.5 pounds (1.2 – 1.6 kg)
  • Color: Bright blue and yellow feathers with green accents on the wings
  • Diet: Fruits, seeds, nuts, and berries
  • Lifespan: 30 – 35 years in the wild, up to 50 years in captivity

Fun Facts

  • Large flocks are where the Blue and Gold Macaws, very social birds, are often found.
  • They use their beaks in frolicking and scouting their neighborhood.
  • These parrots have their loud calls, which reach up to 2 miles far away.

Military Macaw Species

A bird that belongs to the parrot family and has a stunning character is known as the Ara military macaw scientifically (AncientPages Editor). The forests in which they are located include Mexico, South America and Central America are their known origination place.


  • Size: Up to 30 inches (75 cm)
  • Weight: 1.7 – 2.4 pounds (0.8 – 1.1 kg)
  • Color: Bright green feathers with red and blue accents on the wings
  • Diet: Fruits, seeds, nuts, and berries
  • Lifespan: 35 – 45 years in the wild, up to 60 years in captivity

Fun Facts

  • Highly intelligent birds, military macaws can perform various tricks when trained to do so.
  • They form strong bonds with their mates. They are monogamous birds.
  • This species of macaw is considered to be vulnerable because they are suffering from loss of their habitat as well as being taken out of the wild to be adopted as pets against the law.

Hyacinth Macaw

Anodorhynchus hyacinthinus or the Hyacinth Macaw species, is a species of macaw that is the largest for their wingspan reaching about 4 feet (120cm). They can be sighted in the forest areas as well as grasslands in Brazil, Bolivia with paraguay also addressing part of their population.


  • Size: Up to 40 inches (100 cm)
  • Weight: 2.6 – 3.7 pounds (1.2 – 1.7 kg)
  • Color: Bright blue feathers with yellow accents on the face
  • Diet: Nuts, seeds, fruits, and palm fruits
  • Lifespan: 50 – 60 years in the wild, up to 80 years in captivity

Fun Facts

  • These are powerful beaks that are known for cracking very tough shells like those of coconuts; it’s what Hyacinth Macaws have become so famous for.
  • They usually build their nests within the holes of trees and may live for a maximum period of 60 years when residing in their natural surroundings.
  • Regrettably, they have become endangered because of habitat destruction and illegal pet trade..

Other Types of Macaws

Besides the ones stated above, there are another 14 recognized macaw species:

  • Red-fronted Macaw
  • Chestnut-fronted Macaw
  • Blue-throated Macaw
  • Red-bellied Macaw
  • Golden-collared Macaw
  • Red-shouldered Macaw
  • Blue-winged Macaw
  • Red-rumped Macaw
  • Great Green Macaw
  • Military Green Macaw
  • Illiger’s Macaw
  • Buffon’s Macaw
  • Glaucous Macaw

Although not as famous as the Scarlet, Blue and Gold, Military, or Hyacinth macaws, these macaws are equally stunning and unique in their own ways. Each of them have their own habitat, diet, as well as behavior, which makes them truly fascinating creatures.

Where to Get All of These Macaws for Sale

TalkingParrotsIsland is a renowned online supplier where you will get all these types of macaws for sale. Visit their website to check their available macaws for sale.

In Conclusion

Macaws must surely be the most adorable and fascinating raptors that exist today. With their stunning coloured feathers, intelligence, and life spans that outlive some humans’, they become great household companions for individuals who are responsible enough toward them; yet on the other hand one must not forget these avian creatures are actually meant for forests thus they should stay there as much as possible. The more we know about various types of macaws in existence, the greater our admiration towards these birds grows; hence efforts towards conserving their natural habitats for future generations to enjoy. 

Check our article about micro bully

Ugly Fish With Big lips

Previous article

How to prepare your home for a new puppy arrival?

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Bird